The Borgias

Three new series have been aired this month.  If you haven’t heard already, they are The Borgias (Showtime), Game of Thrones (HBO) and Camelot (Starz).  Currently I’ve only really watched the Borgias in depth.  I’ve yet to watch Camelot assuming its even started airing yet, and the Game of Thrones….  Well I watched about 30 minutes of it and stopped watching it after awhile.  After reading The Rotted Rose’s review of it, I had some slight hopes for it, quickly blown away by the terrible dialogue of the so-called King. I’ll probably give it another chance later.  After all the first episode of Spartacus:  Blood and Sand was terribly bad as well, but turned into one of my favorite shows of all time (around Episode 4 and beyond).

The release of The Borgias had great timing as some of their audience is probably attracted to this show through the recent release of a popular video game:  Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood. If you’re anything like one of my roommates, you’ll be hooked based on the name alone.  Though I doubt many are.  My roommate is just plain odd.  They all are really as my other roommate watching the series thinks Lucrezia is hot, leading to a comical conversation of his pedophilia over 14 year old girls.

Honestly, I never knew much about this particular time period before AC Brotherhood was released, so I can’t say too much about how accurate The Borgias TV show is with what happened in real life.  They took the main ideas of what happened and formed their own plots from them. I feel like some of the words they used are incorrect, especially when they’re using the word Christian instead of Catholic.

Minor nitpicks aside, The Borgias has good acting, most notably Cesare Borgia (Francois Arnaud), Michelleto Corella (Sean Harris) and Vanozza dei Cattanei (Joanne Whalley).  Not to say that the other actors are bad, simply that these three are probably my favorite and most convincing. The only character I probably dislike is Alphonso II, whom you meet in the 3rd episode, simply because his voice is extremely annoying, however oddly appropriate.

You’ll have to brave through the first 20 minutes or so of the first episode before the plot begins to unfold and the conflict begins to present itself, but once it begins, it’ll keep you interested and wanting more.  If you like drama and a plot centered story, then you’ll most likely want to watch the Borgias.  The first episode is on Showtime’s website, which you can find here:  http://www.sho.com/site/order/preview.do#/Borgias_s01_e01 .  The quality is lacking and apparently they edited it for the website.  Definitely worth a watch though I believe.

Leave a Reply

